All the Eskom directors who must explain the corporate governance shenanigans

2 Jun 2017


Like the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), the country’s power utility Eskom is hosting one of the worst of corporate governance shenanigans as exemplified by the Brian Molefe resignation that became retirement and evolved into unpaid leave. Before that there was the state capture report which made serious allegations of corruption.

The spotlight has been on Molefe himself, chairperson of the board Ben Ngubane, the minister of public enterprises Lynne Brown and offcourse the Guptas. The nation seems to have forgotten that there are 11 men and women who were mandated in 2014 to safeguard Eskom’s good corporate governance. Many have since left the board for various reasons.

As it tends to happen, the silent board members might suddenly emerge as truth sayers when sensing that the ground is shifting in order to hedge their bets. When in fact they may have been accomplices. They must be held accountable. After all the Companies Act and the new corporate governance rules demand company directors to act with due care and be honourable. The regulations stipulate that directors must be held personally liable should they be found to have caused corporate damage by commission or omission or simply through neglect.

In light of that view, here is the list of Eskom directors who must perhaps speak now or forever face vilification.

  • Ben Ngubane: Chair of the board since 1 April 2015
  • Anoj Singh: CFO was appoint in August 2015
  • Zola Andile Tsotsi: Former chair resigned 30 March 2015
  • Chwayita Mabude: Stayed put
  • Norman Tinyiko Baloyi: Resigned on 30 April 2015
  • Dr Pathmanathan Naidoo
  • Venete Jarlene Klein: Stayed put
  • Nazia Carrim: Resigned in 2016
  • Romeo Kumalo: Resigned April 2016
  • Mark Vivian Pamensky: Resigned in November 2016
  • Zethembe Wilfred Khoza: Stayed put
  • Devapushpum Viroshini Naidoo:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *