Parliament approves three names for IEC Commission: The brief profiles

5 Sep 2018


South Africa’s National Assembly has approved three names to fill vacancies for Commissioners in the country’s Independent Electoral Commission (IEC). These are Judge Dhayanithie Pillay, Dr Nomsa Praisy Masuku and Mr Mosotho Simon Moepya.

They come as terms of Terry Tselane and Bongani Finca end in November.  Judge Thami Makhanya’s term expired in April 2018. The three new names come to join Glen Mashinini, the Chair of the IEC Commission and Janet Love.

The three new names were part of eight names submitted by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng to the Speaker of the National Assembly to consider for the positions of IEC Commissioners. These three names will be sent to the President as a recommendation from Parliament for appointment as IEC Commissioners.

Here follows the brief profiles of the three names:

 Judge Pillay

She is one of South Africa’s leading labour law experts, with over 15 years’ experience as a judge; 10 of which were spent at the Labour Court of South Africa. She has been sitting on the High Court bench in KwaZulu-Natal since 2010. She also has a history as a human rights activist and is actively involved in community organisations. She currently holds the position of an Extraordinary Professor at the University of Pretoria.

Dr Masuku

She is currently the Electoral Commission’s Deputy Chief Electoral Officer responsible for Outreach. She previously headed Standard Bank’s Corporate Social Investment Unit. Before she joined Standard Bank, Dr. Masuku worked for the Electoral Commission of South Africa for eight years in various roles as a Manager, Deputy Director and Speech Writer. Dr Masuku has a PhD in English from the University of Birmingham, in the United Kingdom.

Mr Moepya

He served in the IEC for more than 18 years. He spent 5 years as the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of the IEC where he oversaw both the 2014 National and Provincial Elections and the 2016 Municipal Elections.

Who didn’t make it

Five names did not make the final cut. These are Maletlatsa Ledingwane; Nomonde Mapetla; Nomsa Masuku, Bernedette Muthien and Liepollo Lebohang Watseba Pheko.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *